Promise: To complete the Itakpe-Warri link to Abuja, through Lokoja
December 23, 2021

Buhari reassures Nigerians of completion of the link to Abuja as he inaugurates the Itakpe-Warri railway

Promise: To complete the Itakpe-Warri link to Abuja, through Lokoja

Habib Sheidu
Habib Sheidu
Last Updated
December 24, 2021
min read

As a candidate representing the All Progressives Congress (APC) inthe 2019 general elections, President Buhari promised to complete the Itakpe-Warri link to Abuja, through Lokoja. He stated that it was an important rail line for the country’s economy.


On the 29th of September 2021, President Muhammadu Buhari  inaugurated the Itakpe-Warri Railway in a virtual event. Buhari in his address on that day directed the Federal Ministry of Transportation to link all thenation’s ports of origin and destination – Apapa, Tin Can, Warri, Onne, Calabar Ports — to the rail network to improve overall transportation and economic capacities.


President Buhari also stated that he had approved to link the line further from Itakpe to Abuja to connect the Northern region ofthe country and extend it southwards to link the Warri Ports. The Minister ofT ransportation, Rotimi Amaechi disclosed in 2019 that about $3 billion is required to link Itakpe to Abuja by rail. He also noted that the $3billion will also be used to establish a seaport that will be located in Warri. Minister Amaechi also said the project was fully funded by the Nigerian government, adding that eight of the ten stations are in the Niger-Delta/ South-South region of thecountry. 


During the virtual launch, President Buhari recalled that to further give recognition to Nigerian sons and daughters who have distinguished themselves at nation-building and development, eleven railway stations and railway villages were named after some deserving citizens.


He listed them as follows: Adamu Attah Station, Itakpe; Abubakar Olusola Saraki Station, Ajaokuta; Augustus Aikhomu Station, Itogbo; GeorgeInnih Station, Agenebode; Anthony Enahoro Station, Uromi; Tom Ikimi Station,Ekehen and Samuel Ogbemudia Station, Igbanke.


Others are Goodluck Jonathan Railway Complex, Agbor, Owa-Oyibu;David Ejoor Station, Abraka; Michael Ibru Station, Opara; Alfred Rewane Station, Ujevwu; and Michael Akhigbe Railway Village, Agbor.


AdvoKC will continue to track the progress of this project, we rate this promise In The Works